Our site “sucks” no more!

Well, I am excited to say we have launched our new website:

http://www.effectiveui.com/

In an earlier post, I talked about the difficulties we were experiencing with designing and building our own website. I think, given our company objectives, the team hit a home run. What did we want to accomplish?

Form VS Function

Obviously, the site needed to “show” what we do rather than just writing clever copy  & creating pretty graphics (not that wit & sex appeal aren’t important – something that I lack on both counts). We fundamentally believed our site needed to be “rich” while also delivering the appropriate marketing messaging. We are a little worried that our site might make us look more “interactive agency” than “user experience agency”, but that is a hard line to balance.

Message

We really needed to overhaul our messaging. We have changed quite a bit over the last 3 years and our previous site made it very difficult to highlight our focus on the 3 key areas all good UX companies care about: strategy, design and technology execution.

Tactical Marketing Objectives

The team did an awesome job doing things you may not notice, like creating a flash based website and make it easy to update the content. They also incorporated deep linking and HTML/Flash mixes in a very sophisticated way. I’m really proud of the way this thing was built.

I’d love to hear your feedback on how you think we did. Go easy though, I do bruise easily :)

7 comments
  1. franto said:

    guys, your site doesnt work for me, there is exception, it cant load some URL

  2. Zack said:

    Pretty cool post. I just came by your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your posts.

    Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon!

  3. Israel said:

    Congratulations! You’ve got a very good website, I’ve never seen anything like this before. Kudos to the team that came up with the creative idea, designed it and programmed the interactive side of the website. Keep up the good job guys!

  4. Brian Brandenburg said:

    I like the Pokémon navigation (Pokeball). Clever, original, significant suck factor reduction. Kudos.

  5. Great blend of delightful entertainment and usefulness. I think it does an even better job of demonstrating EUI’s capabilities than your last site design. Kudos.

  6. David said:

    It’s rare to run across an impressive site these days, but this looks great. I saw your company today on the Inc 500 list at #55. Congrats!! I met you on a flight a few months ago (you were heading back from a Silverlight viewing) and just happened to see EUI on the list today (my company’s #170 so I was perusing).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

